In which Hanlon defends Rick Santorum

Earlier this week I glossed over a story in which Rick Santorum said, and I quote, “I don’t want to make black people’s lives better by giving them other people’s money.” I had a number of reasons for not tackling that, the main one being I thought it was a case of Santorum trying to make a point but saying it like an idiot. In this case, that he disagreed with the idea that lives are improved by welfare, whatever.

However, Frothy came up with the most bizarre defense I’ve ever heard when accused of making a racist statement: that he didn’t say it at all.

“I looked at that, and I didn’t say that. If you look at it, what I started to say is a word and then sort of changed and it sort of — blah — came out.  And people said I said ‘black.’ I didn’t,” Santorum said.

Now here’s where things become awkward, and a lot of you aren’t gonna like me for this: he’s right.

I mean it. Go back, watch the video on the Raw Story link. Watch his body language, pay close attention to how his sentence flows, listen to the inflection. More importantly, notice how he isn’t talking about race at any point in there. The addition of “black” to that paragraph is incredibly out of place, and the fact that he’s stumbling elsewhere in the sentence only bolsters the point. The lack of a hard “k” at the end of what is supposedly “black” only bolsters the point.

I’m all for bringing the idiot down, but this isn’t one of those cases.

7 responses to “In which Hanlon defends Rick Santorum

  1. Got to give you credit for this post. I agree that he did not say “black”, even though it was reported as such in many places.

    • I’m a liberal by ideology, not because I want to cheer for this team or that. When it comes to railing against someone, I’ll only do it if it’s both a valid criticism and meaningful in terms of their policies. If I had a TV show, I’d gladly bring Rick on just to air this one out, and then finish off by reminding everyone that he thinks contraception is a sin even for married people.

  2. It sounded to me like he said “black”, and given that, he could have presented a much more creditable defense of his statement. He could have said he just meant it as an example, and obviously should have stated it differently.

    There are a significant number of blacks in Iowa, but not in New Hampshire… apropos I’m not sure what.

    • I agree with you, Fracuss. I listened to video several times. I’ve never heard anyone use “blah” as a filler when they were at a loss for words. It sounded to me like he was either saying “black” (sloppily) or started to say “black” and then decided to back off just before he clicked on the “ck.” I don’t buy his defense for one second.

      • P.S. And because I’m a huge fan of Hanlon and agree with him 95% of the time, I really tried to listen carefully to the tape and give Santorum the benefit of the doubt. But I couldn’t. And that was before I learned that Rick thinks contraception is a sin, even for married peeps.

      • Now Dormi, you know I hate Hanlon and it kills me to have to EVER agree with him on anything (/snarky teasing), but I too listened to the tape and I’ve got to say that I think Santorum was trying to say, “I don’t want to make people’s lives better by giving them somebody else’s money I want to give them the opportunity…,” but instead, what happened was that he garbled “better” and “lives” and then corrected. What I hear is, “I don’t want to make bligh (pause) people’s lives better…”

        I would love to believe he made a completely racist statement because I think he’s a douche nozzle, but I just am not hearing it.

      • I’d like to take this moment to say that I’m always happy when y’all disagree with me. Reminds me that I have an excellent readership that doesn’t just agree with me simply because I said it.

Leave a Reply

