And so it starts…

Sweeping through the news today, I see Republican after Republican threatening complete blockades and stonewalls, shutting down the government if they don’t get their way. Tim Walberg, for example. Or Mitch McConnell making it clear that they’ll be targeting health care.

You can say they’re crazy, they’re radical, they’re counterproductive, but what you can’t deny is their fire.

As soon as Democrats came into office they talked about coming together, working together, not playing partisan politics, etc. Yet it was a one-sided decision, and as a result bill after bill after bill was compromised and watered down. That led to voter disenfranchisement and apathy. Republicans? They’re talking about storming the gates even before they’ve taken office.

I’ll tell ya, I really hope someday Democrats at least get a little of that passion.

3 responses to “And so it starts…

  1. Heya Hanlon – I agree 100% because as actively as I follow politics, even I was so disgusted with the Democrats these last two years that I seriously considered stomping my little foot, holding my breath until I turned blue (at least it would have been the right color), and just not voting for ANYONE anymore. Sanity prevailed and I went out and cast my vote.

    This administration needs to stay on top of keeping their base stoked, that’s all there is to it. They need to find a way to get the message out on what they’ve accomplished, not what they’ve failed to do. They need to get the message out that their failures to accomplish many good things are a direct result of Republican lies and obstruction (and blue dog dems, let’s face it). They need to do this and they need to keep harping on it. I think they, like me, underestimated the attention span of the public (think gnats), and how completely uninformed even those people who elected them are unless they are spoon-fed information.

    Aaargh.

    • Nailed it in one. And Obama’s “shellacking” speech he gave where he basically apologized to the country for not doing better didn’t help at all.

  2. Whenever the Democrats briefly hold power, they’re afraid to use it.

    What I fear now is the same thing that happened with Bill Clinton. Republicans drove him to the right — HE’s the one they got to engineer “welfare reform”; HE’s the one they drove to build up a surplus — once there was $ in the coffers, they drove him out and proceeded to squander all that $$ (giving it to Halliburton, etc.)

    I think that’s their strategy–and they’re good at it. Looks like they’re already driving Obama to the right, so he’ll gut OUR government even before they chew him up and spit him out. Sad. I hope I’m wrong.

    Waving at Mrs. Bitch because misery LOVES company.

Leave a Reply

