Well that didn't happen, did it?

So I told you guys I’d start writing again on the 4th, and… I clearly didn’t. Which brings me to a conundrum.

It’s about time to pay the piper, who in this case is my hosting company, and although I’ve gotten some donations, it’s still a bit of a hit to the old wallet, which has left me thinking.

I’ve been running this since 2005, and in that time I like to think the site has grown from a little vanity project to something at least fairly significant. Unfortunately, I’m not entirely convinced of this fact. You guys that read and comment regularly kick ass, but I’d be lying if I said I wanted to keep paying for a site that’s one step removed from a small conversation. Especially when two weeks can go by and I don’t write shit.

So I’m left with a few options. Take the hit, maybe come out if my little funk. Shift to hosted blogging again (which I’d really like to avoid). Drop it all entirely and say it was an awesome run and I’ll see you in another life, brother.

I admit I haven’t even dredged up the energy to watch one bit of news or even listen to talk radio this past week. I’m completely out of the loop and as time goes by, the thought of trying to play catch up gets less and less attractive.

I don’t have to make a decision until August 4th, so maybe until then I’ll try to get back into my groove and see how I feel.

8 responses to “Well that didn't happen, did it?

  1. As a long-time reader of your blog (though one not prone to comment), I just would like to pipe in that your analysis and humor have always been a pleasure to read and I would truly lament your departure from the blogosphere. Come to think of it, this is really the only blog I read regularly, so I guess that says something, and it was one of the factors that have inspired me to be a poli sci major. I understand that you have a tough decision to make, but rest assured you have impacted many and accumulated a loyal fan base, even if some of us aren't the most vocal.

  2. As a long-time reader of your blog (though one not prone to comment), I just would like to pipe in that your analysis and humor have always been a pleasure to read and I would truly lament your departure from the blogosphere. Come to think of it, this is really the only blog I read regularly, so I guess that says something, and it was one of the factors that have inspired me to be a poli sci major. I understand that you have a tough decision to make, but rest assured you have impacted many and accumulated a loyal fan base, even if some of us aren't the most vocal.

  3. I'm not a long-time reader. I've never commented here before, actually. But I set a goal for myself this year, that I should be more observant of the political environment that I am living in. Shortly after setting this goal, I came across your blog, and, well. I like your style, man, and I would hate for you to go away entirely.

  4. I'm not a long-time reader. I've never commented here before, actually. But I set a goal for myself this year, that I should be more observant of the political environment that I am living in. Shortly after setting this goal, I came across your blog, and, well. I like your style, man, and I would hate for you to go away entirely.

  5. I have newly returned (well, within the last year) to Virginia, my family's home for almost 400 years, from the Philly area, where there is a healthy and vibrant moderate to lefty blog scene.

    I found your work to be refreshing as I tried to reconnect with what's going on here.

    I understand burnout, but I would mourn your retirement.

  6. I have newly returned (well, within the last year) to Virginia, my family's home for almost 400 years, from the Philly area, where there is a healthy and vibrant moderate to lefty blog scene.

    I found your work to be refreshing as I tried to reconnect with what's going on here.

    I understand burnout, but I would mourn your retirement.

  7. Frito Baggins

    What mlong92, kyrosion, and Frank said. Second, third, and fourth their sentiments. I do know the mental health field is draining (if reaffirming). Wife and self did that for many years. Do what you have to do, MH. We'll understand.

  8. Frito Baggins

    What mlong92, kyrosion, and Frank said. Second, third, and fourth their sentiments. I do know the mental health field is draining (if reaffirming). Wife and self did that for many years. Do what you have to do, MH. We'll understand.

Leave a Reply

