Note to the right…

Condemning the violence isn’t good enough.

You have to condemn fostering the attitude that led to it.

7 responses to “Note to the right…

  1. Not going to happen. They'll go too far, it will be followed by a crackdown by police and then the fools will frame themselves as the poor oppressed victim of the "police state". If the GOP/republican/conservative/neocon/teabagger jackasses are nothing – they are entirely predictable.
    Wait until immigration reform comes to the forefront of President Obama's administration – this 25% of our nations population is going to collectively shit itself. THEN you will see their true selves – I wasn't alive during the civil rights movement – but this could really send these nuts over the edge.

    • Agree. I was a teenager during the Civil Rights movement. As predictable as the overt bigotry of the opponents was the tendency of their defenders to say, "Well, all in all these are really good people." Well, all in all they are not. A little caribou on my shoulder tells me that this is going to end badly, not too far down the road. I hope I am wrong about that.

    • Like Frito, I was a teenager during the Civil Rights movement. Watching TV news, I saw the dignity and courage of the people who risked so much for all of us, for our country & for our world. And I saw, to my shame, crowds of repulsive screaming white people, their faces twisted with hatred…a truly ugly, stomach-twisting sight. They CHOSE fear & ignorance, instead of love & courage, and the choice marked them.

      And they're baaaaack (they never really went away) making the same choices, today. They just find new ways to rationalize their choices. I have to remember that fear is an addiction, a powerful addiction, and that these are very, very sick people.

      I would feel deeply sad for a pack of dogs with rabies. OTOH, I would never, never seek a bipartisan agreement with them.

  2. Not going to happen. They'll go too far, it will be followed by a crackdown by police and then the fools will frame themselves as the poor oppressed victim of the "police state". If the GOP/republican/conservative/neocon/teabagger jackasses are nothing – they are entirely predictable.
    Wait until immigration reform comes to the forefront of President Obama's administration – this 25% of our nations population is going to collectively shit itself. THEN you will see their true selves – I wasn't alive during the civil rights movement – but this could really send these nuts over the edge.

    • Agree. I was a teenager during the Civil Rights movement. As predictable as the overt bigotry of the opponents was the tendency of their defenders to say, "Well, all in all these are really good people." Well, all in all they are not. A little caribou on my shoulder tells me that this is going to end badly, not too far down the road. I hope I am wrong about that.

    • Like Frito, I was a teenager during the Civil Rights movement. Watching TV news, I saw the dignity and courage of the people who risked so much for all of us, for our country & for our world. And I saw, to my shame, crowds of repulsive screaming white people, their faces twisted with hatred…a truly ugly, stomach-twisting sight. They CHOSE fear & ignorance, instead of love & courage, and the choice marked them.

      And they're baaaaack (they never really went away) making the same choices, today. They just find new ways to rationalize their choices. I have to remember that fear is an addiction, a powerful addiction, and that these are very, very sick people.

      I would feel deeply sad for a pack of dogs with rabies. OTOH, I would never, never seek a bipartisan agreement with them.

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention Note to the right… | Hanlon's Razor -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

