And it is done.

Health care phase 1 passes the House. To grand chants of “YES WE CAN”.

Let’s see what happens now. Those thirty-three odd Democrats that voted nay are going to have some ‘splaining to do.

6 responses to “And it is done.

  1. "Something is better than nothing." I just hope the people keep seeing this and stop believing the BS.

  2. "Something is better than nothing." I just hope the people keep seeing this and stop believing the BS.

  3. So let me get this straight. Here are some of my questions:

    -The government is FORCING me to buy health insurance?
    -Penalizing me if I do not get it?
    – If I don't buy insurance, and don't pay the penalty, do I go to jail?
    – Like a woman and abortion, shouldn't I have the right to choose if I want it?
    -Does anyone think that this action is un-constitutional?
    -Yes, healthcare cost were out of hand, but instead of radical changes couldn't the government have just tried to lower cost?
    -What if I don't have money to pay for healthcare, does that mean people who are better off are forced to pay for the less fortunate?
    -Is that fair?
    -Are we becoming a "Welfare-State?"
    -Wasn't this bill bastardized by add-ons?
    -Is this action less about fixing the problem, and more about Democratic power politics? (yes we can pass legislation!)

    I'm going to be the devil's advocate on this one, I think people need to honestly think about what this bill means. To quote Star Wars (as cheesy as that sounds) – "So this is how Liberty dies…to thunderous applause."

    • Unless I'm mistaken…

      – Not really
      – See above
      – Repeat
      – Your first five questions are kinda the same, aren't they?
      – ^^^
      – Tried before
      – That's how taxes work
      – Is it fair that our taxes went toward fighting wars that most of us felt were illegal?
      – Not even close
      – More so than we would have liked
      – It was either that or do nothing

      To even TRY to link this bill with the death of liberty is simply absurd. In comparison to the death of habeas corpus or the McCain/Lieberman bill, this health care law is nothin'.

      Check this one out: http://voices.washingtonpost.com/ezra-klein/2010/

  4. So let me get this straight. Here are some of my questions:

    -The government is FORCING me to buy health insurance?
    -Penalizing me if I do not get it?
    – If I don't buy insurance, and don't pay the penalty, do I go to jail?
    – Like a woman and abortion, shouldn't I have the right to choose if I want it?
    -Does anyone think that this action is un-constitutional?
    -Yes, healthcare cost were out of hand, but instead of radical changes couldn't the government have just tried to lower cost?
    -What if I don't have money to pay for healthcare, does that mean people who are better off are forced to pay for the less fortunate?
    -Is that fair?
    -Are we becoming a "Welfare-State?"
    -Wasn't this bill bastardized by add-ons?
    -Is this action less about fixing the problem, and more about Democratic power politics? (yes we can pass legislation!)

    I'm going to be the devil's advocate on this one, I think people need to honestly think about what this bill means. To quote Star Wars (as cheesy as that sounds) – "So this is how Liberty dies…to thunderous applause."

    • Unless I'm mistaken…

      – Not really
      – See above
      – Repeat
      – Your first five questions are kinda the same, aren't they?
      – ^^^
      – Tried before
      – That's how taxes work
      – Is it fair that our taxes went toward fighting wars that most of us felt were illegal?
      – Not even close
      – More so than we would have liked
      – It was either that or do nothing

      To even TRY to link this bill with the death of liberty is simply absurd. In comparison to the death of habeas corpus or the McCain/Lieberman bill, this health care law is nothin'.

      Check this one out: http://voices.washingtonpost.com/ezra-klein/2010/

Leave a Reply

